Knit Faster Peruvian Style – Craftsy Class – Launched!

 

 

Speed up Your Stitches with Peruvian Knitting

Want to finish more projects in less time, without sacrificing the quality of your knits? Join me, knitting expert and author Andrea Wong, for my Craftsy class Knit Faster with Peruvian Knitting, and learn the efficient techniques rooted in Peruvian tradition that will help you stitch faster.

We’ll start class with a brief discussion on the rich history of Peruvian knitting, then dive right into action with a fun project: a colorful kid’s hat! We’ll cover three basic stitches – purl, purl back backwards and knit – and learn the benefits of using the traditional hooked needle. But don’t worry, you can also use regular knitting needles if you’d like. Plus when you learn with Craftsy, you can ask me questions as we go.

Discover how to knit two styles of puntas, or scalloped edges, traditionally used as a border for Peruvian hats and accessories. We’ll start with a small puntas that forms the base of the hat pattern included in your class materials, then move on to a larger style.

Next, we’ll explore a Peruvian twist on colorwork. You’ll learn how to join colors and avoid long floats, and even how to work with three colors in a row to create beautiful patternwork.

Popcorn stitches are a fun textural characteristic of Peruvian knitting. Follow along as I demonstrate how to make “popcorn yarn” by adding texture before you knit, and how to use bobble stitches to make texture as you go.

Earflaps are another traditional element of Peruvian hats, used for warmth and as creative design elements. I’ll guide you step-by-step through two variations: a simple style for a child’s hat; and a more complex design with short rows and a dovetail cast-off for adults.

At the end of class, you’ll see how to adapt different motifs to fit any pattern so you can make every hat unique, just as the Peruvians do. Finish your hat with tassels, beads, buttons or cord – or all of the above – to complete your charming and festive creation. Enroll in Knit Faster with Peruvian Knitting to get started!

At the age of seven, while growing up in South America, I learned fast and effective ways to knit. Now I live in the United States, and over the last 12 years I’ve been teaching my efficient knitting techniques all over the world.

When I’m not teaching, I love to design. That’s how my business, Andrea Wong Knits, was born. You can see my patterns on my company’s website or in a variety of popular knitting magazines. You may also recognize me from my other Craftsy class, Knit Faster with Portuguese Knitting.

I’m excited to teach another class with Craftsy and share my Peruvian knitting technique with you. Let’s start stitching!

Enroll in Knit Faster with Peruvian Knitting with 25% off discount!

 

 

Andrea Wong | Craftsy Instructor

 

 

Leave a comment