Stoney Hedge Farm – Marion, OH

I am a very lucky girl! I have the privilege to be a friend of Judy Kilbury, the owner of Stoney Hedge Farm in Marion, OH.

First of all, Judy is a wonderful person: good hearted, wise, and fun to be around! She fell in love with alpacas and llamas about five years ago and I believe we met shortly after. We both love to knit; we share a passion that brings me to good people over and over again.

Judy started with only 3 animals after visiting the Delaware County Fair and today she has 18: 5 llamas and 13 alpacas. The llamas like to protect the alpacas. Both animals have wonderful fiber and Judy’s goal is to educate her customer about them.

Some great attributes of the fiber: 1. Fire retardant, one of the least flammable, difficult to ignite, slow spreading flames. It’s easy to extinguish, it beads like ash, and does not stick to your skin. 2. Absorbs moisture from skin and increases your comfort factor. 3. It’s lightweight, versatile, and is an all-weather fiber. 4. It’s great for spinning, weaving, knitting, crocheting, felting, insulation, batting, and many more uses. 5. It’s very fine and not itchy against the skin. Please visit www.stoneyhedgefarm.com for more information and products. She also carries blends of fiber like alpaca/hemp for example.

Charlie Brown

New cria

New cria
New Alpaca Cria

New Alpaca Cria

Last winter we were there to visit her and her animals for the first time, but needless to say it was freezing and we did not spend a lot of time outdoors. My students, my daughter, and I went back two weeks ago and it was delightful! The animals are lovable! Since then, 2 crias (babies) were born: one llama and one alpaca.

Aren’t they beautiful?

Right across the street from the farm you can spot the most lovely school house building you have ever seen! Judy’s father (who lived to be 104) and Judy have been students there. Her father also helped remodel the building and today it is used as a school! He use to sit outside the building before school started to answer any questions the students might had about the school in the past.

School House Building

School House Building

I hope one day you can also visit Judy and her farm. Be prepared for a treat!

Black and White Alpaca

Black and White Alpaca

3 thoughts on “Stoney Hedge Farm – Marion, OH

  1. It looks beautiful, Andrea! I just came back from Harrisville where I took the Bohus class…. can you imagine me knitting on size 000’s? But it was lovely knitting with the Bohus yarn.

    I can’t wait to see you in September. Looking forward to your class at HD!

    Barbara

    Like

    • Dear Barbara,

      I am jealous of you taking the Bohus class! Was that with Suzanna Hanson? Why did you use triple Os? I am very excited about my class as well. Knitting non stop even though we had 99F yesterday! Thank you for your comment, I love to keep in touch. I was thinking about Janet this week as I am making little balls of yarn for my intarsia project as she taught me. I can’t wait to see you all there as well.

      Andrea

      Like

  2. Hi, Andrea…… yes, Susanna Hanson was the teacher. And Jan was also there for the class on the Lapland mittens from Rovaniemi, so we all had to wind those little balls of yarn for our project. It was a lot of fun, but probably not my style of knitting. I think it would take me forever to knit a Bohus sweater on those teeny needles, but I’d love to knit a Bohus hat and scarf. (the tiny needles and fine yarn help blend the gorgeous colors you see in a true Bohus design.)

    I also dropped in on Deb Degan’s new, bigger and beautiful yarn shop. We’ll need to plan a field trip for September!

    Barbara

    Like

Leave a Reply

